SUCCESS STORIES

New Student Stages

The typical new student goes thru several stages:

1. Total disbelief our program is really so effective.

2. Visiting, learning more and reluctantly understanding.

3. Taking a leap of faith and trying our beginner program.

4. Being highly impressed with results and sticking with us.

5. Becoming a enthusiast and trying to persuade friends.

6. Being ignored and ridiculed by the friends who think you’ve lost your mind.

7. After training with us your friends admire your great shape.

8. You telling them (again) how much fun and effective it is.

9. Those friends reluctantly trying our class for themselves. Then the above cycle repeats from point 5 down.

 

You Have to Try it for YOURSELF

 

 

Andy,
5 Star Google Review

I've been attending the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for a little over 3 years now. With that being said I have really enjoyed growing as a person and a martial artist. The atmosphere, knowledge and how they teach is second to none. And its nice to train in their state-of-the-art facility ,I would definitely recommend the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club to anyone who wants to get in shape, learn about life skills ,and become a martial artist!!!

 

 

Dawnita,
5 Star Google Review
For Zayne in the lil warriors class

I enrolled my 4 year old grandson in this program at Indianapolis Martial Arts 9 months ago. My main objective for taking him there was to expose him to positive male role models. Unfortunately my grandson’s father is not active in his life and I don’t want him to be a statistic. Ray and James have worked with him and they understand that all children need structure, rules, and guidance. They help the children to understand responsibility and respect. I have seen a dramatic improvement in my grandson’s behavior and understanding of “responsibility”. He enjoys and looks forward going to class 2 times a week. I am confident that when he starts school next fall he will be prepared and focused in class! My grandson has progressed and been promoted 2 times in the last 9 months and he takes great pride in his accomplishments in class. We are looking forward to learning more, making new friends, growing up, and NOT being a statistic!!!!

 

 

Shelby,
5 Star Google Review

Joining Indianapolis martial arts club has been one of the greatest decisions I've made. I've been a member since October of 2016. I've been an athlete my entire life and ever since that ended I have needed and wanted something that could provide me with the discipline and the adrenaline rush I so needed and have been so used to since my college athletics days. Since day one the instructors and other students have welcomed me and have shown me how much they care about making their students better. It is not your typical workout. Every single day is something different and it challenges you both mentally and physically. It will make you a better person in everything you do in life from your job, home, and social life. I have been fortunate enough to experience this and I recommend it to anyone thinking about something like this.

 

 

Angela,
5 Star Google Review

I originally joined IMAC in 2008. I was 18 years old and my doctor had just dropped the bomb that I was officially "obese." Not knowing what to do, I began searching for something fitness related that wouldn't make me feel like a hamster on a wheel; I found Indianapolis Martial Arts Club. It was/is a workout that is both physically challenging and fun. I had to end my membership after the first year, because I went out of state for school, but I always remembered strenuous but enjoyable workouts. June of 2016 I joined once again, this time my Mom did too. We've been learning Muay Thai together in a way that strengthens our relationship and our muscles! Ray, James, and Stephanie are full of encouraging advice on how to improve your form and get strong. They're constantly challenging you to be better than you were before, and you will receive a lot of personal attention for improvement. It's not just a workout, its learning a SKILL, and they've studied it for years. My advice would be to give it a try, but understand your budget. Quality education requires a time commitment and a financial commitment. Make sure you're ready for both, and have fun.

 

 

Kevin,
5 Star Google Review

As an extremely busy full-time student I look forward to the nights I can go to the gym, it is the perfect get-away. For that hour of training I can decompress and relieve the stress of the day. I have been training here for a year and a half and throughout that time the workouts have stayed challenging and fun. The ADHD in me appreciates the fact that I am never done learning here, there is always something new to keep my attention. Speaking of attention, often times during the workout you are concentrating so hard you may not realize how hard you are working physically. I have been an athlete my entire life and no sport can compare to muay-thai in intensity. Despite this, the staff couldn't be more kind and approachable. All are extremely knowledgeable with real fight experience. I highly recommend this gym to anyone. I plan on staying here for as long as possible because I not only grow as a fighter, but a person as well.

 

 

Jorge,
5 Star Google Review

I joined the IMAC about a year and half and it has been the best decision ever. The staff are great, safety is always their number one concern. Ray and his staff no only they want you to be a all around fighter but also they teach about discipline, respect, focus and commitment, these are the things that I apply on my daily routine. I want to thanks Ray and his staff for all the hard work they put in to training me.

 

 


Lynda,
I grew up in Kokomo and moved to Indianapolis in 2000. I am 51 years old. I am a Special Investigator in a Fortune 500 Insurance Company. I sniff out fraud and abuse. Currently I’m studying to gain my Certified Fraud Examiner licence.
When I'm not working I can normally be found outside someplace...caving, hiking, skydiving, kayaking. Although active, most of the things I was doing no longer challenged me and often were accomplished just through 'muscle memory'. I was looking for something to challenge me with discipline and fun. I wasn't in horrible shape...but the "muffin top" had certainly appeared and I wanted to do something about that. I have other friends who train in various methods of Martial Arts so I decided to explore that and it brought me (Sarkine’s Total Warrior) here.
Over the course of the four months I've been training here (Sarkine s Total Warrior) I’ve lost 20 lbs. I have more stamina and my upper body strength...something I despaired of ever really having, has increased dramatically.
Let's face it...life is stressful! I can come in to the school frustrated, mad, sad....doesn't matter. Once I hit those mats and start focusing on drills and form...I start to relax. By the time class is finished, I am de-stressed. It's almost like a physical weight has lifted and I ride that feeling the rest of the night. It's helped so much that I drill on my own at home on days I don't have class and I reap the benefit of that as well.
I knew nothing about this discipline and so I just decided I'd show up and start working on it and that eventually I'd get it. And that's exactly what happens! I started out feeling so dumb..it was hard! But I just kept pushing myself along. I'm not the most graceful person but I can laugh at myself and that easy attitude is important when you are taking on something you've never done. I didn't expect to be good at it...I wasn't good at it. But I kept trying and now I feel like I actually have learned and will continue to push myself and keep learning. It's hard but it's so much fun and the benefits are awesome!
The instructors push you to be your own best...not to be better than the person next to you who is 20 years younger. The other students are all great too and I enjoy seeing them every time I come to class.
I’ve developed a sense of accomplishment and confidence that yes...even at 51 I can do this! I've shaped up and de-stressed...I'm learning skills that might be useful if I ever need to defend myself! And there are other dividends...for instance: I was in line at a store when the older, and larger gentleman in front of me suddenly slipped and fell back toward me. I was able to step back quickly and catch him and keep him from hitting the floor. I could never have caught this larger man this time last year!
What's that line from Finding Nemo? "Just keep swimming, Just keep swimming." My mantra is now "Just keep punching. Just keep kicking." lol I plan to continue to push myself and see just how much I can improve over time.
It doesn't matter if you are young, old, big, or little. If you want to succeed at this, or indeed, anything in life, then just keep after it! Don't judge yourself, don't doubt yourself. Just keep plugging (punching) away. Believe that you will get better and you will!
And have fun! Life is too serious as it is.
PS: The "Muffin Top" is history!

 

 


Alberto,
5 Star Google Review

My name is Alberto. I am 27 years old, originally from Spain. Currently, I am working for the Department of Corrections as a Parole Officer.
I have always been interested in Martial Arts but never had the chance to practice them before. After coming to Indy and seeing the number of positive reviews that this school had, I decided to go ahead and enroll.
After training at Ray Sarkine's school for several months, I can say that I am in a much better shape, I also sleep better at night, and my balance and flexibility have improved tremendously. When I first started training, my main goal was to get in a better shape. I had no idea about the mental benefits that training with Ray would provide. I see life in a completely different way. I am a happier, more positive person, and have become more patient as well, not only when it comes to Martial Arts but even at home and at work too.
At first, I though the school was going to be focused mainly on training people for competitions and championships. However, that was not the case. The school and their programs are tailored to all manner of people from all walks of life. From those who actually want to compete, to those who want to simply get in a better shape and improve their lifestyle.
I love the fact that it is a work out that I enjoy going to and at the same time keeps me active. Having fun while working out is something I just could not find at any other regular gym. I can honestly say that working with Ray and his staff has helped me become a better person, on top of improving my body and mind. In the future, I hope I can continue to benefit from the work ethic and positive mindset of this school.

 

 

Melissa,
5 Star Google Review
I’m a 45 year old woman who has previously done some kickboxing. I moved back to this area and was looking for a new gym. I found IMAC and have enjoyed the technical training I have received since beginning 5 mos ago. I have also learned self defense tactics with each workout, which I really value. With determination and dedication, I am sure you can have the same positive experience I have had. The trainers really care about helping you achieve your goals.

 

 

Roland,
5 Star Google Review
I joined 3 months ago and I love the way we train and workout. I am currently at level 3, but have learned a lot about my technique and getting rid of my bad habits. I am in college and work weekends so coming to this gym really helps me get rid of all my stress from my daily life all while learning new skills. I like how James and Ray are so welcoming towards their students and are very patient as well. I would recommend this gym to anyone who is interesting in learning martial arts for defense or competitive use, because it caters to all types of training and people.

 

 

Krystal,
5 Star Google Review

I’ve been coming to this gym for about a year now and it’s been a great experience. Before this I had a really hard time sticking with a workout for more than a couple months because it would become repetitive and boring and I would eventually lose interest.The classes here don’t have that issue. I always feel like I’m learning something new, and having fun while doing it. It’s not just working out, but learning a useful skill that has the benefit of improving your health and confidence. I definitely recommend it!

 

 

Michael and his son Hunter,
5 Star Google Review

As a busy professional, making the most of my time outside of work is a priority. Approximately seven months ago my son and I opted for a trial class at IMAC. We have never looked back. The time spent with your children can never be replaced and seeing them grow in a positive, encouraging environment is very fulfilling. This environment is very apparent at IMAC. The instructors stress the importance of both the physical and mental aspects of training. Experience, encouragement, and professionalism were evident from day one. While intimidated at first, my son has grown comfortable with the atmosphere and has shown tremendous growth on a personal level. His sense of accomplishment, both physically and mentally, is very apparent. If you are searching for an experience that is both rewarding and worthwhile, I would highly encourage a trial of an IMAC workout. You won’t regret it.

 

 

Ashley,
5 Star Google Review

Such a great place! When they say its the hardest work out you’ll ever love they aren’t lying. Great staff, great workouts, and fantastic students.

 

 

Ashley,
I’ve been taking classes at Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for about six months now and I absolutely love it! In high school and as a child I always played sports but suffered from an ACL tear my senior year that left me unable to play sports for about a year. As I went on in college I struggled to find something that would fit my schedule until I found IMAC. IMAC is the perfect place for me with their multiple class times six days a week, their challenging yet rewarding work outs, and their amazing instructors and fellow martial art enthusiasts. It’s one of the hardest workouts you’ll ever get but its great for your physical and mental health! The other students are so encouraging and everyone is on the same page. I look forward to continuing my martial arts training here for years to come.

 

 

Ian,
5 Star Google Review
I have been with IMAC for about 5 years now and have loved every moment of it. The instructors/staff and student make every visit worth it! I worried about my asthma when I started and if I would be able to do it. Being at the school has improved my overall health and I haven’t had any issue with my asthma since I have started. I have learned many different self-defense styles and improved my overall mental state. I would recommend this school to anyone who is looking to change something about their lifestyle, be it mental, physical, or emotional.

 

 

Aria,
5 Star Google Review

I started in February since then I have lost 40 pounds I’m truly glad I made the decision to join not only am I losing the weight I’m learning to protect myself and it’s definitely a stress reliever best decision I made in 2016……aw yea James is my favorite instructor lol

 

 

Matt,
5 Star Google Review

One of the best decisions I’ve made for my personal wellness. I’ve been training for the past 3 years and I’m 53. The quality and care of instruction will exceed your expectation. You will discover a positive sense of accomplishment following the completion of each class. The instructors’ work and show commitment to your personal success, no matter your ability level. One of the things I enjoy the most is the encouragement you also receive from your fellow students. Regardless of the levels of expertise, the instructors and students help you. It’s a fun atmosphere with everyone working hard. The training is intense and you will certainly know you’ve been through work out. It’s personally rewarding in numerous ways. As for me, I find both benefits in physical and mental conditioning. Physically I’ve gained strength, flexibility, mobility and balance. Mentally I’ve seen improvement in finding a fun outlet for the stress life brings and better mental focus. The hardest work out you will ever love. All you have to do is start coming to class.

 

 

Arthur,
5 Star Google Review

This is an amazing kickboxing gym! It is not your average gym where you go to get some punches and kicks in and you go home. This gym teaches you muay thai, a defensive fighting style. Right from the beginning the instructors teach you how to have a correct fighting stance and they provide a reason for every little thing in your stance so that you can remember and quickly learn to have a good stance. The same thing goes for every type of punch and kick that you are taught. The classes are very fun and fast paced and they really do mean it when they say you will get the best workout you ever had and you will have fun doing it. Also you never get bored as every class is unique with what is being taught. I would recommend this to anyone who is even slightly interested in learning how to fight!

 

 

Daulton,
5 Star Google Review
I have been coming to the IMAC for over 6 months now and I really enjoy what they have to offer there. You get to learn self-defense, have a good workout, and meet good people. The instructors are always there to push you to your best and are there when you need help. Also, you can go at your own pace and not rush into anything you think you’re not ready for. Lastly, if anyone is looking for a place that will challenge their mind and body, the IMAC is where you should go.

 

 

Hanna,
5 Star Google Review
Hardest workout ever, but oh so worth it. IMAC has given me way more than I could ever imagine I would get out of a building I drive by on my way home. I have gained confidence in my body and in my ability to protect myself when I walk to my car after night classes. The instructors are really incredible and really push you to work as hard as you can. The other students are amazing and really make you want to keep going, you have no doubt that everyone is putting pedal to the metal during class. The only thing I question is why I didn’t start sooner.

 

 

Greg,
5 Star Google Review

About 9 years ago I stopped in IMAC to inquire about taking lessons due to an interest in martial arts, and a desire to find a different path to fitness. After leaving the school I felt an urging to pursue my interest, but unfortunately I found every excuse in the book to not make the commitment. Now in my late forties find myself having made one of the best commitments of my life. “Jumping into the pool” and choosing to put aside all excuses. ( As an older student, I find it refreshing to hear the coach speak to the younger students about life experiences and the applications of the skills just taught.) At IMAC I have found an environment, where I can challenge myself physically and mentally. Pushing the “I can’t do it” mentality out of my head and improving my mental and physical flexibility. Learning the the art and disciplines of “Martial Arts”, all under the guidance of a great staff. A courteous staff that will push you to better yourself, without forcing you into a situation where you can injure yourself. Classes set the student up for success, by building the student from the ground up. Once the student masters the basic concepts they are invited to move to a more advanced level. All of which is based on the students desires and abilities. “”IF YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT THIS MISSION”, and make the commitment of your time and your effort , I think that you will have a fun and rewarding experience all while meeting great people. I can only imagine where I would’ve been had I chosen not to make excuses 9 years ago.

 

 

Marie and her daughter Marissa,
5 Star Google Review

After years of sitting at a computer every day, working in an environment that changes daily, and the stresses not only from work but everyday life something had to change. First my daughter and I purchased a gym membership along with paying for personal fitness sessions. We never found an instructor that had a genuine interest in helping us find our best. Instructors just provided a list of what exercises we’d do and watch with little to no input. After two years of private lessons and gym fees, we ended our gym membership. My daughter wanted to try Indianapolis Martial Arts Club. To say the least I was intrigued but at over 40 I was concerned about my abilities. Four months into it now and it has been a great experience. The instructors are great and take a personal interest in your development of the skill and you as an individual. Even with the hundreds of students the instructors see each day, they still know you by name. The workouts are intense and those pieces that jiggled a bit much will start to tone up quickly! It is wonderful to work out with so many great people who encourage each other to keep pushing, don’t judge you if your pace is a bit slower, and support you in your development. Each workout session is different and the instructors are always working with you on an individual level to enhance your skill. There are so many days I come home from work that I could just drop into the couch and be done with the day. But the staff, students and, great workout keep us coming back.

 

 

Stephanie,
5 Star Google Review

I have been a member of IMAC for almost two months now and I have loved every moment of it!! I had driven by IMAC numerous times and always thought about calling, but i was nervous about it. I am very glad I finally got up the nerve to call. Within the last two months I have found a determination inside of me that I did not know I possessed. The stress just melts off my shoulders as I walk in the doors and I know that I am in for a great workout. When I leave after class a feeling of accomplishment follows. This is a way for me to invest in myself. Thank you IMAC.

 

 

Kara,
5 Star Google Review

I’ve been coming to IMAC for a few months now & it’s definitely the best workout I’ve ever had.

 

 

Erikka,
5 Star Google Review

I been here for almost a year & I have seen a great amount changes within myself far as in my mental & physical. I have became more discipline. The routines & exercises are amazing. You will lose weight & gain endurance, stamina at the same time. The classes are set up to work with your schedule & its a judgement free zone. I would highly recommend anyone of any age to join.

 

 

Melissa,
5 Star Google Review
After three months of regular attendance I can pretty confidently say this is the best workout I’ve ever had. When I started out I didn’t really know what to expect, but wanted to try it out anyway. This was the best decision I’ve made in awhile. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who’s interested! In my experience with other places the main reason I quit going was because I would get stuck in the same routine and always felt like it wasn’t working. I’ve been able to come in four or five days in a row and never do the same workout twice!

 

 

Ciara,
5 Star Google Review

Attending the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club has been such a positive experience in my life and I wish I would have started sooner. The instructors are very patient with you and show that they truly care about you as an individual. I am constantly telling all my friends about this place and how life changing it has been to me. I joined in January this year and all the other students made me feel very welcome and helped encourage me along the way. Doing Muay Thai not only relieves stress, but it helps you develop patience and perseverance. If you want a challenging workout in a supportive environment, this is the place to come. You will get results if you stay consistent. So far I have lost 25 pounds, and I have become much stronger and confident.

 

 

John,
5 Star Google Review

I have been attending for two months now, and am very satisfied. I had been looking for a hobby which this has fulfilled. In addition, I am already noticing improved strength and flexibility…and it is a great stress-relief too. The instructors are very good and every class is different which keeps it from being boring. My only regret is not joining years ago.

 

 

Berry for her daughter Kiana,
5 Star Google Review

My daughter asked to learn self defense so we found Warrior Destiny. The instructors have been encouraging and professional. My daughter looks forward to her classes every week. It’s great to see her excited about what she is learning.

 

 

Nicholas,
5 Star Google Review
I’ve been going to the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for about two months now. I can’t get enough of the training and the team atmosphere. The training is dynamic no two sessions are the same. So your body can’t get used to the work out. You sweat from beginning to end and can’t wait to come to your next class. The team atmosphere is something I haven’t seen since my football days. Everyone helps you get better and work through your own physical limitations (everyone has them especially in the beginning so don’t worry, I’m a big dude and it takes time to build the strength and conditioning and flexibility to be able to do it all.) The trainers aren’t strictly fitness trainers they are coaches and teachers and it’s top notch. Over the last few weeks I’ve noticed myself getting more comfortable in the techniques and just feeling like “hey I’m getting this.”

 

 

Richard,
5 Star Google Review
I turn 52 next month and have worked in construction rehabbing water towers for 28 years. After taking an office job 5 years ago, I have been pretty much inactive as far as exercise goes. I drove past IMAC for 3 years before contacting James 2 months ago for information on joining. After a meeting James at the facility and a few private lessons. I was definitely hooked on the hardest workout you will ever enjoy. I have a stressful job and when I walk through the doors for class I forget about everything work related. During my first couple of lessons the writing on the wall “NEVER GIVE UP” was all inspiration that it took to keep me going. The staff is very knowable, experienced and willing to provide instructions from stretching to the proper techniques needed to perform Muay Thai kickboxing. Everyone that I have met at the classes are friendly and there for a common goal, to improve there physical condition as well as their ability to perform Muay Thai Kickboxing as it was meant to be. I look forward to many years as a member of the Indianapolis Martial Art Club. Thank you James and Ray for all that you do….

 

 

Alex,
5 Star Google Review
It’s really the hardest workout you’ll ever LOVE! I enjoy the workout and the people in it, and how the trainer helps you be the best you can be. They push you to your limit and beyond!

 

 

Amber,
5 Star Google Review

I have been a member of IMAC for over a years I have nothing but good things to say about the instructors and the facility. I have worked out for years, but nothing compares to the training I have received at IMAC. It is the hardest workout I have ever done, but I love it! Each class is unique and we are constantly improving and learning new techniques. IMAC offers many different levels of training to meet each person needs. The instructors are wonderful and take the time to get to know you and your goals. I wish I would have joined years ago.

 

 

Preet and Raj and their 3 Kids,
5 Star Google Review

There is no other place/way to get fit and build confidence this is it. Me and my better half(Raj) been members at IMAC little over 4yrs and my 3kids have been here for about 3yrs. I realized I am a better person now not just mentally but also physically than I was 4yrs ago and have way more patience not just with my 3 kids but also with my employees at work. When I am here working out I am in the zone nothing matters in that moment, its a great place for stress relief. I would also like to add IMAC is a place for anyone and everyone doesn’t matter what your goals are in life this is one place where I know I or shall I say my whole family want to commit to. It is a challenge everyday but its will worth it. So for those who are looking for a challenge/loose weight or to be a warrior this is the place. One more thing we love our coaches! 🙂

 

 

April for her son Jacob,
5 Star Google Review
From a mothers perspective, this has been the most challenging but positive thing my son has been a part of. He has always been athletically involved in school sports but has always wanted to learn kick boxing. When he was younger, we use to drive by the facility and he always wanted to go check it out. As a teen, he actually contacted James himself and we set up a meeting. Ray & James were very welcoming & excited to get Jacob started. He had no previous experience but was eager to learn. This program has taught him self discipline, respect & a sense of accomplishment. He is now at level 3 but there is so much more to learn! This is a great work out physically & mentally and is in a positive atmosphere where giving up is not an option!!

 

 

Theo,
5 Star Google Review
I’ve been training here for a little over a year now, and I’m VERY happy with my decision. When I first started looking for a Muay Thai gym, I visited an MMA style gym that also taught Muay Thai. They offered to let me come to a class that evening for free. I thought that was great and showed up. With no instruction apart from helping me wrap my hands, they threw me in with the class. There were students who had been practicing for years, some for a few months, and a few others that were visiting for the first time like me. Almost immediately they had me “sparring” with another new guy, and since we were both inexperienced it quickly evolved into a game of closed-fist tag. I left that gym feeling sore, bruised, and a bad cramp in my calf. The next week, I went to IMAC to talk with Ray, then scheduled a free private lesson with James. The lesson was great, and I was taught the basics and told more about how the school works. After my experience the week before, it was a welcome change. I signed up with the school, and while their prices are certainly higher than most gyms, you get a lot. Sure a membership to LA Fitness is about $50 a month, but you don’t get the level of instruction, dedication of trainers, or sense of camaraderie you get here. After over a year at the school, and moving into their Level 3 class, I can say that I am really glad I decided to train here. Ray is very personable, and you can tell he truly enjoys what he does.

 

 

Ivan,
5 Star Google Review
ivan1
I really enjoy been part of this Martial Arts club there a lot of great people and positive attitude I’m glad the I find this place it make be a better person and it teaches me how to take care of my self.

 

 

Linda,
5 Star Google Review
linda1
I have been coming to imac for over 5yrs. It has been and still is a growth process and self discovery for me. I walked in with several “conditions” which were actually mental barriers. Eg-I decided i didnot want to spar i only wanted to learn without any contact. I felt heard and did not feel pressured to spar. Ray and James take the time to build trust and understand who you are. They challenge you to be the best you can be in a safe controlled environment and thats when you begin to understand how brave you can be and how resilient you are. They build up your mental and physical strength. This is more than a gym, its a school where you learn the science of Muay Thai.

 

Maria and Vincent,
5 Star Google Review
vincent001
Great workout, building confidence for kids and adults. Professional atmosphere, superb instructors.

 

Billy,
5 Star Google Review
billy-thb
I first started with IMAC back in 2006. I always get a good workout in, and they are always tough ones in one way or another. Most days I leave nearly exhausted, but I have a lot of fun doing it and it’s a great stress reliever. Ray and James always motivate and push you to train harder and improve yourself. They take the time to give personal attention to every student and show specific ways to improve your technique. I have lost a good 50 lbs. training here, and my cardio is always improving. The atmosphere here is very nice, and the other classmates are great to train with. Everyone is respectful to each other and encouraging. There is a wide variety of people that train here, and would say there is something here for everyone. It’s a great place to train, and I love the workouts.

 

Sara,
5 Star Google Review
sara1
I joined a little over two years ago, and I never thought I would get so much out of going to a gym. I remember the first day walking in, and I’ll admit I was intimidated being an unathletic and uncoordinated 25-year-old. One thing that struck me about this gym was how supportive everyone was, especially the instructors and upper-level students. These are people who really know their craft and have competed in Muay Thai but everyone is very approachable and supportive. Ray and James not only give excellent instruction, but they really focus on developing positive attitudes in their students as well which I think is important in Muay Thai training because it keeps everyone safe and having a good time. The classes are not easy and they continue to be challenging even as you get better. I know I still have a ton of improvements to make, but looking back to two years ago, I’m now able to do some things that I never thought I’d physically be able to do. For me, it’s made a big impact, not only physically, but in other areas of my life as well.

 

Bryce,
5 Star Google Review
bryce
I have been going to IMAC for over 2 years now and it has grown my appreciation for what a good martial art school can provide. I came from a BJJ background and after coming to college I wanted to continue with some type of martial arts training. I initially circulated to MMA gyms around Indy but the focus was on being tough rather than being a smart fighter. This is the important difference between MMA gyms and a martial arts school. Ray and James focus heavily on improving technique and laying the building blocks to begin higher level fighting. The classes are dynamic in that they cater not only to those looking to lose weight but also those that have experience in martial arts. Awesome school and awesome relationships built there.

 

 

Bill,
5 Star Google Review
bill1
If you desire to learn and master the art of Muay Thai kick boxing, then this is the right place for you. I have been training under Ray and James watchful eye for the past 4 years. The quality and caliber of instruction, training and friendship that you will encounter is simple world class! You will find a commitment to your personal success not only from the instructors, but also from your fellow students. At every step of the way you will be encouraged to develop your full potential in both mind and body. It matters little if you are a beginner or a seasoned fighter, young or old, male or female there is a place for you in IMAC’s training program. Mastering the art of Muay Thai will demand your commitment and dedication. Ego’s are put on the back burner during training sessions! Everyone helps and supports each other. The training is intense, but truly enjoyable. The benefits I personally value in my association with IMAC are: improved physical conditioning; a strengthening sense of personal character; and an improved mental sharpness acquired while learning Muay Thai!

 

Krista,
5 Star Google Review
krista1
I’ve been attending here for almost 2 years and this has really changed my health not only physically but mentally. I joined for stress and anger relief, something to keep me distracted and I stayed because I fell in love with what Muay Thai and this school really has to offer. The instructors are helpful, resourceful, and have built great trust between all their students. They push you and encourage you at the same time. You will always leave feeling empowered and wanting more. There is no intimidation from anyone like you would feel at other gyms. Everyone is welcoming no matter what skill level and even though the sweat and hard work we find a reason to smile. I really recommend joining and seeing for yourself!

 

 

Clinton,
5 Star Google Review
clinton1
This place is awesome. I have been going 2-3 times a week for the last 7 months. I usually do the Monday and Wednesday noon classes with James. He is an excellent instructor. Every class he pushes me to my limit but never pushes me past what I am capable of doing. I joined the club to lose weight, and I have lost about 20 pounds of fat and 2 pant sizes. More than losing weight I have gained a ton of core strength. My first day I could not do a single sit up and fell on my butt when I tried to jump rope. Now I’m up to fifty sit ups and can jump rope for 5 min. The training is incredible. I love the fact that I am learning how to defend myself on the off chance that I am ever attacked and plan to continue going the IMAC for many more years..

 

Patrick,
5 Star Google Review
patrick1
This was a much needed change in my life, I am 36 years old and I have not had a coach in years. every session is a great workout and the trainers care about there students. If I miss too many classes I can count on a phone call to make sure that I am ok. I have benefited from this class in many ways.

 

Claire,
5 Star Google Review
claire1
First time I have ever tried anything like this and am so glad I did. The instructors help to motivate and keep me accountable for coming weekly. I feel pushed outside of my comfort zone which is what I need to challenge my strength and endurance in my weekly workout. While becoming stronger physically I also have developed skills I can use throughout life. I am learning basic techniques that will keep me safe or at least give me an upper hand if need be. If you are needing a new exciting way to improve your health and become stronger I would recommend joining this club!

 

Milton,
5 Star Google Review
milton1
I’ve been a member now for almost two years. I had no experience in any martial arts prior to this. I can honestly say the team of instructors here is dedicated to getting you, where you want to go. The classes are definitely hard but when you walk out at the end there is sense of accomplishment for sure. If you are like me trying to join a martial arts team for the first time this is your place. Ray and James take their time in getting comfortable and build your confidence before setting you loose. Their experience and ability to train people is in my opinion top notch.

 

Marcella,
5 Star Google Review
marci1
I have been a member of IMAC for at least 5 years and it is worth every sore muscle and moment spent sweating my buns off. The instructors are as involved in your training as you let them be and will continuously push you to achieve whatever goals you set, including competition. The class structure offers a safe environment and I have never been afraid of injury, even when sparring guys twice my size. Everyone is respectful of your personal experience level and always willing to help you improve. It is hard work, so expect to put some time and effort in if you really want to achieve results. Great gym, great community!

 

Torrey,
5 Star Google Review
torrey1
I’ve been a student for 5 years now and training at IMAC has changed me in many ways for the better. Ray and James are very good instructors they know what they’re talkin about when it comes to this fighting style. I would recommend IMAC to any and everyone. When your here your treated with respect and that goes a long way. Oh and I forgot to add that I enjoy coming here so much that I drive an hour each time just to get to class. Definitely worth my trip each time I take it.

 

Austin,
5 Star Google Review
austin1
James, I just thought I should let you all know that you all have helped me in numerous ways already. I feel that training to stay alive, build and control myself and keeping a mentality to fight through lifes struggles using your alls concepts on battling back against lifes hardships is what’s kept me alive and helps me have something to look forward to. I don’t know if I’ll ever perfect or ace things but it’s already been beneficial in several ways. I was seriously lost, damaged and extremely depressed before starting. Warrior Destiny has kept me alive and I mean in a very literal way. I know I seem a little off at times but that’s because I have a worse than movie style life behind me and Im still facing numerous struggles from elsewhere. Warrior Destiny has helped me fight those issues better than I was able to alone. I am grateful for your alls help. I’ve been to schools that didn’t have any attention to detail, any help and quite honestly offered no skills worth much for anything. You all have really built something that all families, individuals including other professionals should be part of.

 

Chad,
5 Star Google Review
I was welcomed and made to feel comfortable in spite of the fact I have never really been into exercise. And because of that I am now exercising regularly and enjoying the physical changes! Thanks so much!!

 

Drew-David,
5 Star Google Review
drew1
I was never a very active or motivated kid before I started training here. I had always wanted to,but ever other sport I tried never seemed to suit me, leading me to always quit sooner or later, but martial arts isn’t just a sport. At the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club I learned perseverance, dedication, and respect. I wasn’t just taught to be a thug. That’s what I love the most: the fact that this school has changed me; made me a better person. I feel more confident than ever, and it’s all because the first day I walked into those doors and decided to finally commit to something worth committing to.

 

William,
5 Star Google Review
will1
I didn’t realize how important martial arts would be in my life. When I first started training over 2 years ago I was curious to see what Muay Thai is all about and was ready to learn the principles. Now that I have learn them it has only improved my life it many various ways. Don’t join if you’re gonna treat it as a gym or sport this is an art to only better yourself and morals. In other words, this is a beautiful 5 star gym with amazing trainers. But we don’t just work out we train as a family.

 

 

Kathy,
kathyw1
I had never done anything like this before, never even thrown a punch. I am not what you would call an “athletic type”-far from it actually. I’m more of a Klutz-the two left feet, always picked last in gym class variety. Because of this, I’ve gone through life avoiding most types of athletic activity. At various times, I’d tried to start exercising (step aerobics, treadmill, Tae-Bo, assorted exercise tapes, etc.) but I never stuck with anything for long. However, as my 30th birthday drew near, I realized that the couch potato approach to life was no longer going to cut it! I needed to do something to get in shape and undo the less than wonderful changes my body had undergone in the past 10 years. Also, I needed to find a way to vent some of the stress I was experiencing.

The Indianapolis Martial Arts Club has been everything I hoped for and so much more! It’s the best workout I’ve ever had. I work really hard. And I see the results! When I joined, I felt better almost immediately-I was less tense and slept much more soundly. Within two months I started noticing changes in the way my clothes fit. I’ve been coming to the school regularly for about 10 months now. I can see muscles in my arms and legs, where before there was only flab. I’ve lost 14 pounds without changing my diet! I’ve also gone down several clothing sizes-before coming to the gym I wore size 10-12 pants and I just recently bought a pair of size 4 jeans! I can’t even remember the last time I wore a size 4 – not since high school at least. I’m much happier and more confident person now. For perhaps the first time, I feel like I’m in control of my life.

When I look at where I started and what I’ve accomplished in these past months, I realize that I can do anything if I put my mind to it! In fact, I’m going to compete in my first match next month! The instructors at the school are wonderful. I found the whole experience pretty intimidating when I first started but the staff took the time to teach me the basics and made sure to keep an eye on me to make sure I was doing well. They don’t just throw new people into the deep end-they help you learn and develop skills. I’ve really appreciated how supportive all the instructors are.

They always encourage me to do better-I never feel stupid in class, even when I’m doing something completely wrong because rather than focusing on what you’ve done incorrectly they focus on how you can improve. Joining I.M.A.C. in one of the best things I’ve done. I have gotten so much out of it-I couldn’t be happier with my experience.

Continuation of Kathy,
5 Star Google Review
comp006-kathy
I’ve been going to the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club (IMAC) for 12 years, and obviously, I love it. I started going there when I was 29, and it was a huge change for me because I’d never been athletic. Ray, the head trainer, and everyone else were very welcoming. I’ve loved going there because I get an amazing workout — much better than anything I could do on my own. I’m much stronger now, and I lost a bunch of weight. More importantly, I’m much more confident now, and I feel like I can handle anything that life throws my way. In the words of the MasterCard commercial – “priceless!” I never intended to compete, but I became interested in it, and Ray and the other trainers supported me in this endeavor. Now my competition days are behind me, but I still get so much out of being a member of the IMAC. It’s the best workout I could imagine — it’s fun, challenging, and I’m always learning something. This isn’t like running on a treadmill or going on an elliptical. You’re learning a martial art, and you can continue to do that over the course of your life. You don’t have to want to fight to go to the IMAC — most people there don’t. In fact, if you want to beat people up, don’t come to this gym — it’s not the place for you. Ray works hard to make sure it’s a welcoming place for people of all ages, from all different backgrounds, and with varying levels of athletic experience. If you want to get a great workout, learn an amazing art that will continue to stretch and challenge you no matter how long you do it, and meet wonderful people, this is the place for you. I realize you may be intimidated by the idea of a kickboxing gym — I certainly was before I tried it out, but this gym is not intimidating at all. Ray and the other trainers are wonderful — welcoming, knowledgeable, and dedicated to helping people learn muay thai and get in shape. If you think you might be interested in going to this gym, please come in and check it out. I’d love to meet you and tell you about my experience and how much I’ve gained from going here.

 

 

Shawn,
5 Star Google Review
First of all I would like to say that IMAC is not just a gym or club to me but more like family. Where its not your money that their interested in, but more you as a person. I have been a member of IMAC since 1989. Of coarse I learned the martial arts over the years and also became very good at it, winning my first world championship in 1993. I have seen the school grow from 50 members to well over 500 members. From a little 20 x 30 building to the thousands of square feet it is today. IMAC is one of the largest schools in the U.S. that has also produce many champions over the years. Once members join they seem to stick around for years. I have seen boys and girls grow up to become men and women, fathers and mothers and even a few grandparents. The school has many activities outside of the gym. I been to many cookouts at the chief instructor’s personal house. The school has hosted Halloween parties, horseback riding, pool parties, group vacation trips, group motorcycle rides, birthday parties for members, banquet and award dinners. Martial Arts has made me grow as a person physically, mentally and emotionally. It has given me the confident to become a very strong successful leader in my personal life, my family life and my community. I would like to thank Ray for helping me grow as a person. You have help guided me thru life from a 14 year old shy kid that just moved to indy and didn’t know anybody, to the successful man that I am today. YOU ARE THE BIG BROTHER THAT I NEVER HAD.

 

Andy,
5 Star Google Review
andy1
I’ve been going for 2 years and I love it! Ray and James know their craft! The classes are fun, challenging, and never boring. I recommend it to anyone looking for a great workout or want to learn Muay Thai!

 

Elizabeth,
5 Star Google Review
eliz
I have been going to Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for almost 2 years now, I first began because like most I wanted to lose weight. As I continued to go, the more weight i lost. I soon began to realize i was becoming a better stronger version of myself, not just physically but mentally as well. IMAC has given me the foundation to be successful in life. This was made possible through the family like and supportive environment of the gym. The gym is like a family, we all work together to help each other grow. I plan to continue for as long as I am able.

 

Stefanie,
5 Star Google Review
stef1
These classes are tough—but they are soooo much fun!  No matter how stressed out I am when I come to class I always leave feeling completely relaxed and drenched in sweat!  I played sports from elementary school through college, and though I haven’t practiced any of those sports in years I actually play better than I ever did just from staying in shape through Muay Thai and learning how to control my muscles better.  The instructors are fantastic and genuinely care about every student and they give attention to every student, not just the ones that have aspirations to compete like some gyms do. I would recommend this school to anyone- no matter what shape or age (one of my classmates is in his 70’s!!).  This place is crazy fun!

 

Donald,
5 Star Google Review
donnie1
During my nearly four years with the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club, I’ve never had a more incredible experience than I have had here.  This school of martial arts has the most understanding and patient instructors I’ve ever met, and that’s including academic instructors.  I’m in the best shape of my life thanks to Ray and James and everyone that has ever helped me along the way.  Here, you can practice and truly understand martial arts, learn to defend yourself, but more importantly develop good character and meet amazing people.  If you want the best quality martial arts instruction and the opportunity to change your life, this is the place for you.  I’ve been going four years strong, and I’ll keep training under the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for the rest of my life.

 

Ryan,
5 Star Google Review
ryan1
I have been a student at IMAC for over four years.  I am a previous college scholarship athlete. I can say with confidence that my experience at the school ranks as the best level of instruction that I received at any level.   As with anything, what you put in is what you get out.  Kru Ray and James present a consistent platform for students to come and be pushed to their limits.  Additionally, they train the persons spirit as well as the body.  Whatever I thought I knew about protecting myself was false until I trained at this school.  I stand prepared to address any need to protect myself with confidence because of the instruction and application under stress Kru Ray and James have provided to me.  I am grateful for the opportunity to train in such a great environment, joining this school changed my life.

 

 

Aly,
5 Star Google Review
I have been going to Indianapolis Martial Arts Club for almost 2 years now, I first began because I wanted to lose weight.  As I continued to go, my love for the art grew and I started to drop the pounds.   It doesn’t feel like a work out, rather, it is a good time and a lot of fun.  It allows you to relieve stress that has built up throughout the day and you leave feeling great!  The instructors at the gym really genuinely care about each individual student, creating a great and welcoming environment.  At the gym, it really does feel like a family; we all are there to help and support each other through our Muay Thai journey. For me, it has been a great experience and I wish to continue my journey for a long time!

 

Jovan,
5 Star Google Review
jovan1
I’ve been attending the school for roughly 6 years now and I absolutely love it!! I’ve developed so many skills not just physical but mental as well. Kru Ray and James are great teachers, friendly and very flexible. If you are looking for real muay thai no nonsense this is the place for you!!

 

April,
5 Star Google Review
april1
At the end of this month, I will have been a member of IMAC for 2 years.  My experience there has been wonderful.  The instructors know what they are talking about, how to teach, and how to give you the workout that you came for.  My only complaint is that I did not look into it and join sooner. Not only have I improved physically, but I have improved mentally and emotionally as well.  I have become a more motivated and driven person thanks to IMAC.

 

 

Kevin,
5 Star Google Review
kevink_before_after
I’ve been a member of IMAC for a few years now and have really enjoyed the training there. My only regret is not joining sooner. Besides losing weight, gaining flexibility, and gaining strength,  I’ve learned skills that will help me the rest of my life. I think for the amount of quality instruction you receive the price is more than reasonable. I would recommend joining IMAC to anyone who is serious about their training and and becoming a martial artist.

 

 

Isaac,
5 Star Google Review
isaac1
The best place to get fit and build confidence. Been going for three years now and just wish I heard of this place sooner. I did the whole LA Fitness thing, used their trainers, still got no results and because I got no results I started making excuses not to go. Then I signed up at the Indianapolis Martial Arts Club. I quickly built muscle, endurance and flexibility and loss weight doing a workout that makes me want to keep going back. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

 

Sara,
5 Star Google Review
sara2
Wow! I started with IMAC 3 months ago and have lost several inches and now feel more confident and stronger. The classes are intense and challenging, but still fun! The instructors are fabulous in helping motivate everyone in a disciplined environment. I am learning how to protect myself and gain confidence in what I can do. I am so thankful to have found IMAC because it has truly improved my overall health and decreased my stress. If you are looking for an activity that you can enjoy and get the best workout possible, this is the place! Feeling awesome and glad I stopped in:)

 

Angela,
5 Star Google Review
angie1
When I turned 40, I knew I needed to make a change to improve my health and fitness. I also knew that I absolutely could not join another gym. I had tried EVERYTHING! So I walked into IMC 3 years ago and I’m still a member. I can’t get enough of it. I’m a busy mom with 4 crazy active boys at home and I love IMC because it’s my happy place. I feel empowered, strong, accomplished and athletic. I love it and plan on doing it as long as I am physically able. I wish everyone would try it. And I wish I had done it sooner. It’s one of my few regrets in life.

 

Patricia,
5 Star Google Review
pat1
When I was younger I wanted to learn a martial art but wasn’t able to do so as my parents could not afford the lessons. I saw the gym one day driving by and decided to try it out since I could afford the lessons as an adult. It has been almost 4 yrs now and I love the training. The training is hard work and fun. I played collegiate soccer for 4 years as well as various other sports and this challenge has been the greatest. When I’m in the muay thai gym I think of nothing else but the task at hand, which is superb for stress relief. This is a safe and fun atmosphere to learn an exciting and physical art.

 

Debbie,
5 Star Google Review
debbie1
I have always wanted to do this and now at my age it turned into being on my bucket list at the age of 57. I have exercised throughout my life doing things like yoga, zumba and having personal trainers etc. This has been the most satisfying exercise and training that has brought many benefits such as health and stimulation of the mind. The instructors are excellent and give you a can-do attitude. I highly recommend this training to improve the mind, body and spirit.

 

 

Go to Page of more Student Reviews...